Friday, January 6, 2012

Init function & default virtual mode

[root@localhost named]init 0 :  Shutdown (goes thru the /etc/rc0.d/* scripts then halts)
[root@localhost named]init 1  :  Single user mode or emergency mode means no network no multitasking is present in this mode only root has access in this runlevel
[root@localhost named]init 2  :  No network but multitasking support is present .
[root@localhost named]init 3  :  Network is present multitasking is present but with out GUI .
[root@localhost named]init 4  :  It is similar to runlevel 3; It is reserved for other purposes in research.
[root@localhost named]init 5  :  Network is present multitasking and GUI is present with sound etc.
[root@localhost named]init 6  :  This runlevel is defined to system restart.
by default  virtual mode-------
[root@localhost named]vim   /etc/inittab
replace here "3"  to  "5"   NB: 3 for virtual   5 for multiple
[root@localhost named]startx    ( for going to graphical)

No comments:

Post a Comment